2 thoughts on “What’s in a (company) name?

  1. GettingThere says:

    Hey! I could totally connect to your post above and agree 100% with getting on that brand name early on in ones career. I graduated from a decent University in Philadelphia, as an international student in 2010, probably one of the worst years to graduate with the economy (in addition to the visa hassles I had to face, when almost no one was hiring). I had to get a job within 3 months, or had to return back to my home country and so I decided to join an unconventional German start-up marketing premium energy drinks in the US. It was a catch-22 for me back then! But the team was great and I got the opportunity to work and live in NYC (a dream come true in early 20s! Haha), but when it came to switch jobs, I always felt the need to explain so much more than my friends who were working for say a PWC/Deloitte. Fast forward 6 years since graduation, I still don’t have a ‘brand’ name/logo on my resume, and I always have to do so much more during the ‘So, what do you do?’ question during networking events etc!! I am will be going to Queen’s University in Canada soon to get my MBA, and I am soo determined to have that brand company on my resume, for as long as I can take it! Sorry for the long post, but I could totally get what you were saying, I just had to write. Thanks for penning down your thoughts!

    • bschoolgirl says:

      Hey GettingThere, thanks so much for sharing! It’s good to know that there are others out there facing similar challenges. Getting an MBA is a fantastic way to get your foot in the door at a brand name company, if that’s what you want, so congrats on taking that first step! I wish you all the best in b-school and beyond. 🙂

Leave a Reply

