Breaking Up is Hard to Do

On this week’s finale of The Bachelor (shut up…my roommate was watching it…don’t judge me), Sean had to tell Lindsay that she was not going to receive his final rose. It was a tearful goodbye, made more painful by the fact that Sean didn’t have a good reason to give her, other than that he was in love with Catherine. Lindsay showed her disdain by taking off her six-inch heels, rushing back to the limo and sobbing into the camera, “I thought I was going to get engaged today!”

It all reminded me a little of MBA admissions.

Stay with me.

You see, the following day I put a letter in the mail to Fourth-Choice School rejecting their offer of admission. “It’s not you, it’s me. I love your campus, your students, and your generous scholarship offer. But my heart is with another school.”

I didn’t want to do it. If I could, I would frame that acceptance letter and look at it fondly every day until I heard back from Dream School. It would be a sweet reminder that someone, somewhere, loved me. But alas, Fourth-Choice School was growing impatient for an answer and a deposit, and I just wasn’t ready to commit. I love another.

First-world problems, right? “Oh no, I have SO many schools vying for my attention that I just. can’t. choose.” Except it hurts. It’s like walking into a bar and getting checked out by everyone except that really cute guy/girl who won’t give you the time of day. And of course, sadistic being that you are, that one person is the only one you care about. So when that nice-but-not-special person walks up and wants to buy you a drink, you have a terrible choice to make – accept their attentions until something better comes along (at a hefty $1,000 price tag), or turn them down flat and risk leaving alone that night.

I might be enjoying these metaphors too much.

In any case, it’s too late to turn back now. The letter is in the mail, and in a day or two Fourth-Choice School will know how the matter stands. I only hope that the news doesn’t come as too much of a shock. It’s for the best, and someday Fourth-Choice will understand. But man, does it hurt to say goodbye.

3 thoughts on “Breaking Up is Hard to Do

    • bschoolgirl says:

      I know, right?? He really did pull the rug out from under her feet. You don’t usually start a break-up speech with the words, “I love you.” Lol, I’m so glad I wasn’t the only one watching.

Leave a Reply

